Welcome guest, please Login or Register

You are here: HomeForum Home → Oracle Primavera → New Primavera → Thread

   

Login Dialog : “The database has not been configured to run background jobs…”

Rank

Total Posts: 5

Joined 2013-03-18

PM

Hello to all,
I am trying to find out why a certain dialog box appears right after I login to P6.
So, the P6 “Login to Primavera P6” dialog box comes up on starting the program.  I plug in my password, and the the login dialog box title changes to “Connecting to database…”, then “Validating user…”, then this is when I get a “Primavera P6” dialog box with the following text and an “OK” button:
“The database has not been configured to run background jobs. To correct this problem, please contact your System Administrator or see the Administrator’s Guide:”
Can someone 1) explain what this means, and 2) how it can be resolved?
Thanks in advance for your help!

     
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 4399

Joined 2013-03-18

PM

this is not a serious error and it it is due to a missing DLL file in C:\WINDOWS\system32  folder.

To resolve the issue see the attached solution

     

Signature

The Dr. House of Scheduling

Rank

Total Posts: 5

Joined 2013-03-18

PM

Thanks, Zoltan.
I will give this a try and report back.

     
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 4399

Joined 2013-03-18

PM

no need to report back I know that it works I have done it

     

Signature

The Dr. House of Scheduling

Rank

Total Posts: 5

Joined 2013-03-18

PM

Zoltan,
Actually, my IT guy doesn’t believe this will help.  This is what he said:
Two problems. 1 There isn’t a Primavera service running. 2 The files are already there.
We installed P6 v7 from scratch (meaning, we did not have a previous version that existed).  We installed the standalone client on a terminal server so that I can access the software from any computer where I have internet access.  Does this impact your thoughts as to what is happening?  And, to what the resolution should be?
Thanks again.

     
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 4399

Joined 2013-03-18

PM

my configuration is the same. Maybe the file is corrupt.

did you try the fix ?
 
I am sure it will work

     

Signature

The Dr. House of Scheduling

Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 4399

Joined 2013-03-18

PM

if that did not work try this

If the background jobs are not running or to simply troubleshoot any potential issues with background jobs, the following query examples can be used:

For execution of any script below, the following is recommended:
 Log into the instance using SQLPlus with the schema owner (which should have DBA role assigned):
 
For example: ADMUSER
◦For standalone users of P6 v7 using Oracle XE, the schema owner is ADMPRM$PM
 
To log into SQL Plus:
 
•Browse to Start, Run and type CMD (to open a command prompt)
•At the command prompt, type: SQLPLUS /@ ◦where is the schema owner for the instance
◦where is the password for the schema owner
◦where is the name of the Oracle Instance

■For example: admprm$pm/password@XE
•This should log into SQLPlus and be placed at a SQL> prompt to run SQL statements

     

Signature

The Dr. House of Scheduling